2D game

I’m a total noob with this stuff, so please bear with me. I’m trying to use A* in a 2D game with y axis up and x axis pointing right. So when I start a Grid Graph, I set x rotation to -90 to get it oriented with my 2D world. In my world there is no “floor” (underwater game) there are only walls. So i turn off height test and set the collision testing mask to the layer that has my walls on it. I run scan and this brings me to my first question. What are the rainbow colored lines (horizontal)? I see the red cubes covering my walls which I understand is what I want, but I don’t know what the colored lines mean.

Moving on, I add the Seeker component and AI Path script to one of my enemy sprites and set the target to another sprite. When I run the game I see the green path is drawn between the two, great. But the eney starts to rotate in z space, which for a 2D game is not good. Then it gets to a point where it should turn, but it just stops there. To eliminate the rotation, I tried commenting out line 277 in AIPath. If I do that the object does not move along the path, but instead just starts falling in z direction.

Any help is appreciated. In the meantime I will be reading more docs and code :slight_smile:

Think I found most of what I need in old forum…

http://www.arongranberg.com/?s=rainbow

Hi

The colored lines are different areas of the graph which cannot be reached from each other. You probably don’t want that and the setting I think you should change is the Max Climb setting (set to 0 to disable) or alternatively Max Climb Axis (set to Z axis).

Here is a guide on how to use the A* Pathfinding Project for a 2D game. It is a bit old so some have changed since then, but it is in large part still valid.
http://www.rocket5studios.com/tutorials/make-a-2d-game-with-unity3d-using-only-free-tools-beginning-enemy-ai-with-a-pathfinding/